Skip to main content

Gerry Carroll Coaching Award

Measuring the success of a coach not in victories but in the care and guidance given to the development of young men who play the game.

The Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award, established in memory of Gerry Carroll, is given annually to one boys' high school coach nationwide who reflects the attributes of the award's namesake. Coach Carroll spent a good part of his brief 46 years playing, watching, and coaching lacrosse. Greater than his love for the sport, however, was his commitment to give back to young people some of the lifetime of lessons he himself took from the game. 

Nominees for the Carroll Award, established in 1994, must demonstrate support and care for players in their growth and development as young adults and leaders on and off the playing field. Nominees must also be members in good standing of USA Lacrosse. The recipient is chosen by a committee comprised of Carroll friends and family. 

who was Gerry Carroll?

Gerry Carroll was an uncommon man: a community leader, Navy pilot and war hero, rugged individualist, devoted husband and father, loyal friend, and successful author. He died prematurely in 1993. Throughout his life, he developed and used his many talents with a sense of responsibility for the betterment of society and for the cultivation of virtue. Gerry exemplified the conviction that a life is only lived well when it is lived generously in the service of others. 

Gerry played lacrosse at Baltimore's Loyola High School and at Boston College, where he captained the team. He coached on both the collegiate level (U.S. Naval Academy, St. Mary's College) and the high school level (U.S. Navy Prep School, St. Mary's Ryken). 

Nominate Here

The Prior Winners

Gerald J. Carroll Exemplary Coaching Award
1994  Mike Messere, West Genesee High School, Camillus, N.Y
1995 • Cliff Gillespie, St. Paul’s School, Concord, N.H.
1996  Tom Hall, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
1997  Doug Tarring, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville, Va.
1998  John Linehan, Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, Pa.
1999  John Sothoron, St. Mary’s Ryken High School, Leonardtown, Md.
2000  Ted Wolford, Upper Arlington High School, Columbus, Ohio
2001  Larry Briggs, Amherst Regional High School, Amherst, Mass
2002  Larry Wink, Tully Senior High School, Tully, N.Y.
2003  Tom Acee, Henninger High School, Syracuse, N.Y.
2004  David White, Salmon River Central School, Fort Covington, N.Y.
2005  John Baker Jr., Chesapeake High School, Baltimore, Md.
2006  Chris Kenneally, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
2007  John Piper, North Carroll High School, Hampstead, Md.
2008  Steve Tripp, Glen Cove High School, N.Y.
2009  Andrew Bolger, Pope John Paul II High School, Boca Raton, Fla.
2010  Toby Plank, Evergreen High School, Evergreen, Colo.
2011  Greg Barnard, Midlothian High School, Midlothian, Va.
2012  Mike Jolly, De La Salle Collegiate High School, Warren, Mich.
2013  Bob Hartranft, Farmingdale High School, Farmingdale, N.Y.
2014 Wendell Thomas, Atholton High School, Columbia, Md.
2015  Bob Shriver, Boys' Latin School, Baltimore, Md.
2016  Rob Bordley, Landon School, Bethesda, Md. 
2017  Justin Georgacakis, Glenbrook North High School, Northbrook, Ill.
2018  (not awarded)
2019  Neil Duffy, Norfolk Academy, Norfolk, Va.
2020  (not awarded due to COVID-19)
2021  Adam White, St. Sebastian's School, Needham, Mass.
2022  Ben Hunt, Auburn High School, Auburn, Ala.